Alabama's Graduated Drivers License Law
Alabama law places certain restrictions on 16-year-old drivers, as long as they are 16 years old.
These restrictions also apply to those over 17, if they have been licensed less than 6 months.
By law, these young drivers may not drive with more than one passenger other than a supervising licensed driver at least 21 years old. The language of the law does permit additional passengers if they are family members.
For these drivers, the law prohibits operating a vehicle after midnight and before 6:00 PM, unless
a. accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
b. accompanied by a licensee 21 years of age or older with parental consent.
c. going to or from work.
d. going to or from a school-, or religious sponsored event.
e. driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement emergency.
f. driving to or from hunting or fishing activity in posession of required hunting or fishing license.
USE OF HANDHELD COMMUNICATION DEVICES
This law also disallows operation of a handheld communication device.
Violations may result in extension of these restrictions beyond age 16, suspension of license, and/or fines for the driver or a parent or legal guardian who knowingly allows the driver to engage in driving under conditions not allowed under the law.